Margaret Ferrill Dawes Commission Decision

M.C.R. 1808.



Muskogee, Indian Territory, April 23, 1902.

Margaret Ferrill,
De Soto, Mississippi

Dear Madame:

You are hereby advised that on the 15th day of April, 1902, the Commission to the Five Civilized Tribes rendered a decision in the consolidated case of Julia Thompson, et al.,  embracing the following applications for identification as Mississippi Choctaws:

Julia Thompson, et al
Candis Allen
Banister Allen, et al, et al
Indiana Coleman
Margaret Ferrill, et al
Emma Hayes, et al
Jack Ferrill, et al
John Ferrill, et al
Robert Ferrill
Willoughby Thompson
Tobias Brock
Julia Turner
Charlie Allen
M.C.R. 1862
M.C.R. 1776
M.C.R. 1774
M.C.R. 1775
M.C.R. 1808
M.C.R. 1809
M.C.R. 1811
M.C.R. 1812
M.C.R. 1813
M.C.R. 1870
M.C.R. 1869
M.C.R. 1921
M.C.R. 1974


Said decision, after a review of the evidence submitted, concludes as follows;

“The authority vested in the Commission by the twenty-first section of the act of Congress of June 28, 1898, (30 Stats., 495) , is as follows:

Said Commission shall have authority to determine the identity of Choctaw Indians claiming rights in the Choctaw lands under article fourteen of the treaty between the United States and the Choctaw Nation, concluded September twenty-seventh, eighteen hundred and thirty, and to that end may administer oaths, examine witnesses and perform all other acts necessary thereto, and make report to the Secretary of the Interior.””

It is the opinion of the Commission that the evidence in this case is insufficient to determine the identity of Julia Thompson, Candis Allen, John Allen, Minnie Allen, Ella Allen, Della Allen, Pearl Allen, Byrd Allen, Aleck Allen, Early Allen, Banistor Allen, Lewis Allen, Annie Allen, Cora Allen, Luther Allen, Indiana Coleman, Margaret Ferrill, Elda Ferrill, Lemuel Ferrill, Charley Ferrill, Emma Hayes, Minnie Hayes, Bamar Hayes, Ollie Hayes, Maggie Hayes, Lucy Hayes, Cicero Hayes, Jack Ferrill,  Mary Ella Ferrell, George Ferrill, John Ferrill, Fannie Ferrill, Robert Ferrill, Willoughby Thompson, Tobias Brock, Julia Truner, and Charlie Allen, as the provision of law above quoted, and that the application for their identification as such should be refused, and it is so ordered.”

You are further advised that the Commission has, on this date, forwarded the record in this case to the Secretary of the Interior for review, and you will be informed in due time of such action as may be taken by him.

Yours truly,

Signed      Iams Bixby.
Acting Chairman Register

 M.C.R. 1808


Muskogee, Indian Territory,  June 17, 1902

Margaret Ferrill,
De Soto, Mississippi.

Dear Madam:

You are hereby advised that on the 5th day of June, 1902, the Secretary of the Interior affirmed the decision of this Commission refusing the applications for identification as Mississippi Choctaws of the several persons included in the consolidated case of Julia Thompson, et al., of which decision you were advised by registered mail on the 23rd day of April, 1902.

Yours truly,
Signed  Iams Bixby
Acting Chairman.



Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top