First Senators and Representatives of Washington

These are the names of the first state senators, with their counties:

Adams, Franklin, and Okanagan County, F. H. Luce

Asotin and Garfield County, C. G. Austin

Chehalis County, C. T. Wooding

Clallam County, Jefferson, and San Juan, Henry Landes

Clarke County, L. B. Clough

Columbia County, H. H. Wolfe

Cowlitz County, C. E. Forsythe

Douglas and Yakima County, J. M. Snow

Island and Skagit County, Thomas Paine

King County, W. D. Wood, J. H. Jones, 0. D. Gilfoil, John R. Kinnear, W. V. Rinehart

Kitsap and Mason County, W. H. Kneeland

Kittitas County, E. T. Wilson

Klickitat and Skamania County, Jacob Huusaker

Lincoln County, J. H. Long, Lewis; H. W. Fairweather

Pacific and Walikiakum County, B. A. Seaborg

Pierce County, John S. Baker, L. F. Thompson, Henry Drum (Drum was the one democrat in the senate)

Snohomish County, Henry Vestal

Spokane County, Alexander Watt, E. B. Hyde, B. C. Van Houton

Spokane and Stevens County, H. E. Houghton

Thurston County, N. H. Owings

Walla Walla County, Platt A. Preston, Geo. T. Thompson

Whatcom County, W. J. Parkinson

Whitman County, John C. Lawrence, J. T. Whaley, A. T. Farris

First Representatives of Washington

Adams County, W. K. Kennedy

Asotin County, William Farrish

Chehalis County, R. L. Nims, J. D. Medcalf

Clallam County, Amos F. Shaw, John D. Geoghegan, S. S. Cook, Clarke; A. B. Luce

Columbia County, A. H. Weatherford, H. B. Day

Cowlitz County, Chandler Huntington, Jr.

Douglas County, E. D. Nash

Franklin County, C. H. Flummcrfell

Garfield County, W. S. Oliphant

Island County, George W. Morse

Jefferson County, Joseph Kuhn

King County, J. T. Blackburn, W. C. Rutter, W. II. Hughes, Alex. Allen, W. J. Shinn, George Bothwell, F. W. Bird, F. B. Grant

Kitsap County, M. S. Drew

Kittitas County, J. N. Power, J. P. Sharp

Klickitat County, Bruce F. Purdy, R. H. Blair

Lewis County, S. C. Herren, Charles Gilchrist

Lincoln County, P. R. Spencer, T. C. Blackfan

Mason County, John McReavy

Okanagan County, Barry Hamilton

Pacific County, Charles Foster

Pierce County, George Browne, A. Hewitt, George B. Kandle, Oliff Peterson, James Knox, Stephen Judson

San Juan County, J. E. Tucker

Skagit County, J. E. Edens, B. D. Minkler

Skamania County, George IT. Stevenson

Snohomish County, Alexander Robertson, A. H. Eddy

Spokane County, J. W. Feighan, J. E. Gandy, S. G. Grubb, J. S. Brown, A. K. Clarke, E. B. Dean

Stevens County, M. A. Randall

Thurston County, W. G. Bush, Francis Rotch

Walikiakum County, Joseph G. Megler

Walla Walla County, Joseph Painter, Z. K. Straight, James Cornwall

Whatcom County, R. W. Montray, George Judson

Whitman County, J. C. Turner, E. R. Pickerell, J. T. Peterson, R. H. Hutchinson, B. R. Ostrander

Yakima County, John Cleman

The democrats in the house were Weatherford, Nash, Flummerfell, McReavy, Judson, and Stephenson, and Seattle, Ex-gov. Watson C. Squire. These were the principal aspirants, although Ex-congressman Voorhees of Colfax was in the field, with Chauncey W. Griggs of Tacoma. S. C. Hyde of Spokane Falls withdrew before the election.

Thompson was the youngest man in the race. He was born in Wisconsin in 1853, was educated in the common schools of Burlington, and learned the trade of carpentry. At 18 years of age he began to go west, living a few months in Iowa, in Hebron, Nebraska, 2 years, where he was deputy county treasurer. On attaining his majority in 1873, he formed a law partnership, and in 1875 was admitted to practice. He also organized a bank, and engaged in stock raising and various undertakings, in which he was successful. In 1883 he removed to Washington, locating in Tacoma, where he purchased the bank of A. J. Baker, organizing the Merchants’ National Bank, of which he became president. From a capital of $50,000 it has increased to $250,000. Out of his wealth he donated $20,000 to establish a training school of manual skill at Tacoma. He served in the legislature in 1886, and was elected to the senate in 1887-8.


Bancroft, Hubert H. Bancroft Works, Volume 31, History Of Washington, Idaho, and Montana, 1845-1889. San Francisco: The History Company. 1890.

Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top