Oregon Census Records

Oregon was first established as a state in 1859, when the lower portion of the Oregon Territory was set aside. Census earlier then that were taken as territorial census, and few of these exist online yet outside of the Federal 1850 Oregon Territorial census. The 1850 census was the first official state census taken in Oregon which enumerated all residents. From then, until present day, census have been taken every 10 years, and each one is suppose to enumerate all residents within a household.

Several census have been authorized by the state. The two most important of those were the 1895 and 1905 because they include all members of the household. Of the 1895 census, only Marion County exists in microfilmed records. For 1905, only Baker, Lane, Linn and Marion counties have microfilmed records. None of these exist online to our knowledge.

Oregon Territorial Census

There were several census taken during the years of 1842-1859 while Oregon was only a territory. These territorial census enumerated only the heads of household, and few of them exist in full online. Where they do exist in modern day counties we have shown on the specific county page, but I have repeated all of them below for your quick reference.

Benton County

Champoeg County

Clackamas County

Clark County

Lewis County

Tuality County

Yamhill County


Census Records: A directory of resources providing online access to census records. Copyright 1999-2020, AccessGenealogy.

Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top