Location: Athens Ohio

Athens Grand Juries from, 1805 to 1815

The first grand jury that ever sat in the county, was drawn in November, 1805, and was composed as follows: John Dixon, John Hewitt, Samuel Moore, John Corey, Peter Boyles, Jeremiah Riggs, Canaday Lowry, William Howlett, Robert Fulton, Alvan Bingham, Josiah Coe, Philip M. Starr. March Term, 1806.-Alvan Bingham, Hopson Beebe, John Thompson, Silas Dean, John Lowry, Josiah Coe, Daniel Stewart, Robert Fulton, Baruch Dorr, Edmund Dorr, Peter Boyles, John Corey, Benaziah Simmons. July Term, 1806.-Alvan Bingham, John Havner, David Pratt, Reuben Hurlbut, Jacob Boyles, Moses Bean, Canaday Lowry, Alexander Fulton, George Wolf, Joseph Brooks, Abraham Shidler, John Corey, Peter

Athens County, Ohio Commissioners 1805-1868

County Commissioners from the Organization of the County. 1805 Silas Dean, William Howlett, John Curry-(At special election.) 1805 William Barrows, William Howlett, Samuel Moore-(At regular election.) 1806 Alvan Bingham, Bingham, Samuel Moore-(At regular election.) 1807 Alvan Bingham, Caleb Merritt, Samuel Moore-(At regular election. 1808 Alvan Bingham, Caleb Merritt, Ebenezer Currier. 1809 Asahel Cooley, Caleb Merritt, Ebenezer Currier. 1810 Asahel Cooley, Zebulon Griffin, Ebenezer Currier. 1811 Asahel Cooley, Zebulon Griffin, Seth Fuller. 1812 Ebenezer Currier, Zebulon Griffin, Seth Fuller. 1813 Ebenezer Currier, Caleb Merritt, Seth Fuller. 1814 Ebenezer Currier, Caleb Merritt, Robert Linzee. 1815 Daniel Stewart, Levi Stedman, Robert Linzee. 1816

Athens County, Ohio Auditors 1805-1868

The first constitution of Ohio provided for the election by the people of only two county officers, viz.: sheriff and coroner; other county officers were, during the first eighteen years of the state’s history, appointed by the county commissioners or by the associate judges of the respective counties. The office of county auditor was created by act of the legislature, at the session of 182o-21. Before that time the principal duties of the auditor were performed by the county clerk, who was appointed by the commissioners. Henry Bartlett, so long known in the county as “Esquire Bartlett,” was clerk, and

Athens County, Ohio County Recorders 1805-1868

County Recorders. office. Recorded what volumes. Dr. Eliphaz Perkins, From 1806 to Jul. 1819, Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4 Chauncey F. Perkins, From July 1819 to May 1826, Nos. 4, 5. A. G. Brown, From May 1826 to Aug. 1833, Nos. 5, 6. Robert E. Constable, From Aug. 1833 to Nov. 1835, Nos. 6, 7. A. G. Brown, From Nov. 1835 to Oct. 1841, Nos. 7, 8, 9, 10. Enos Stimson, From Oct. 1841 to Oct. 1844, Nos. 10, 11, 12. John Boswell, From Oct. 1844 to Oct. 1847, Nos. 12, 13, 14 A. J. Van Vorhes, From Oct. 1847

Athens County, Ohio Sheriffs 1805-1868

County Sheriff’s. Robert Linzee, appointed April, 1805; Silvanus Ames, appointed November, 1807; Robert Linzee, appointed November, 1809; Thomas Armstrong, elected October, 1813; Isaac Barker, elected October, 1817; Jacob Lentner, elected October, 1821; Calvary Morris, elected October, 1823; Robert Linzee, elected October, 1827; John McGill, elected October, 1829; Amos Miller, elected October, 1831; Joseph Hewitt, elected October, 1835; Joseph H. Moore, elected October, 1839; William Golden, elected October, 1843; J. L. Currier, elected October, 1847; Joseph L. Kessinger, elected October, 1851; Leonard Brown, elected October, 1855; H. C. Knowles, elected October, 1857; Frederic S. Stedman, elected October, 1861; John M. Johnson,

Athens County, Ohio County Court Officers 1805-1868

County Court. The first court of common pleas, July 8, 1805, consisted of Robert F. Slaughter, president judge, and Silvanus Ames and Elijah Hatch, associate judges. Henry Bartlett was appointed clerk. Since that time the following judges have acted: 1806-Levin Belt, president judge, and Silvanus Ames, Alexander Stedman, and Abel Miller, associate judges. In 1807, judge Ames became sheriff, and Elijah Hatch became judge. 1807 to 1812-William Wilson, president judge, and Alexanander Stedman, Abel Miller, and Elijah Hatch, associate judges. 1813-William Wilson, president judge, and Jehiel Gregory, Silvanus Ames, and Elijah Hatch, associate judges. 1814-William Wilson, president judge, and Jehiel

Athens County, Ohio County Treasurers 1805-1868

County Treasurers. Alvan Bingham, appointed April, 1805; William Harper, appointed June, 1806; Ebenezer Currier, appointed June, 1807; Eliphaz Perkins, appointed March, 1808; William Harper, appointed June, 1809; Eliphaz Perkins,* appointed June, 1811; Amos Crippen, appointed June, 1815; Isaac Barker, appointed June, 1825, elected October, 1825; Amos Crippen, elected October, 1829; Isaac Barker, elected October, 1831; Isaac N. Norton, elected October, 1835, died in December, 1836. Abram Van Vorhes acted first year, and Isaac Barker, second year, by appointment. Isaac Barker, elected October, 1837; Amos Crippen, elected October, 1839; Robert McCabe, elected October, 1841; William Golden, elected October, 1847; Samuel Pickering,

1806 2nd Ordinance Selling Land Lots in Athens

On the 2nd of April, 1806, Rufus Putnam and Dudley Woodbridge were appointed a committee to conduct a second sale of town lots, which took place November 25, 1806. Some of the lots previously sold were sold again, payments having not been made. The following is the report of the second sale No. of lot. Purchaser. Price. 1 Joel Abbott, $72 00 2 Joel Abbott, 40 50 3 Ebenezer Currier, 36 50 4 William Skinner, 15 00 5 Silvanus Ames, 15 00 6 Leonard Jewett, 15 00 8 Leonard Jewett, 15 00 9 Leonard Jewett, 13 00 10 John Walker,

1804 Ordinance Selling Land Lots in Athens

Sec. 1 appointed Rufus Putnam and Samuel Carpenter to survey and lay off the town of Athens agreeably with the rule of the resolution of the legislature of December 18th, 1799. Sec. 2 directed the treasurer of the university to have the town plat recorded. Sec. 3 directed Putnam and Carpenter, after due notice, to sell on the first Monday of November, 1804, at public auction, twenty-seven house-lots and an equal number of out-lots at their discretion, excepting and reserving house-lots number 57 and 58. The remaining sections related to the form of certificate and lease to be given. The

Officers of the Town of Athens

The town records from 1811, the date of incorporation, to 1825, are lost. In 1825, James Gillmore was president of the town council, and Joseph B. Miles recorder. At an election held in the town of Athens, March 6, 1826, the number of votes cast was forty-three, and the following persons were elected members of the town council, viz.: Thomas Brice, by thirty-four votes; Columbus Bierce, by thirty-four votes; Ebenezer Currier, by thirty-one votes; John Brown 2d, by forty-three votes; and Joseph B. Miles, by twentythree votes. The following town officers were elected: Samuel Knowles, marshal; Eben Foster, supervisor; A.