Township Officers of Cropsy, Illinois

The township was organized in April, 1858, at a meeting held at the house of Levi Straight. A. A. Straight was chosen Moderator, and A. J. Cropsey, Clerk. The town was divided into two road districts on the half-section line running through the town north and south, which now has the iron bridge on it. Below is given, in table, the officers who have been elected to the principal offices during the official life of the town.

DateVotes CastSupervisorClerkAssessorCollector
1858 A.A. StraightB.A. WigginsJ. HarknessJ. Darr
1859 J.H. Van EmanE.W. MahoneyE. MerrillN.M. Stoddard
1860 J.H. Van EmanE.W. MahoneyE. MerrillH. Crabb
1861 N.M. StoddardE.W. MahoneyG.W. FreshcornS.P. Alford
186219 Charles CrabbG.W. FreshcornH. Crabb
186317 Charles CrabbA.B. CarrN.M. Stoddard
186414N.M. StoddardCharles CrabbB.M. StoddardRobert Rand
186514J. WardCharles CrabbH. CrabbJ.W. McCullough
186619Henderson CrabbCharles CrabbJ.P.W. EsonJ.W. McCullough
186739H.L. TerpenningCharles CrabbJ.P.W. EsonJ.W. McCullough
186836M.H. KnightCharles CrabbJ.I. RobinsonJ.W. McCullough
186964H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyJ. McCulloughAnson Dart
1870105H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyH. CrabbA.W. Green
187176H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyJ.C. Swatsley
187276H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyJ.C. Swatsley
1873101H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyZ.C. WorleyE.H. Worley
1874136H.L. TerpenningJ.C. SwatsleyC.B. WorleyO.D. Rutter
187578G.R. BuckJ.C. SwatsleyJ.C. SwatsleyC.D. Morris
187685G.R. BuckJ.C. SwatsleyD.B. SpencerJ.T. Tanner
187756H.L. TerpenningH.A. ThomasJ.W. McCulloughA.W. Green
187832H.L. TerpenningH.A. ThomasJ.W. McCulloughA.W. Green

Those who have served as Justices of the Peace are, L. F. Straight, G. W. Freshcorn, J. H. Van Eman, Ellis Elmer, H. L. Terpenning, J. T. Tanner, A. Beale, A. R. Jones, I. C. Lefler, J. P. Worley, J. E. Whiting and J. Hinshaw.

The Commissioners of Highways have been, A. A. Straight, G. W. Freshcorn, N. M. Stoddard, S. A. Stoddard, D. Thompson, N. Brigham, Joseph Elmer, E. H. Ward, J. W. McCullough, G. Haller, M. H. Knight, John Sharpless, J. B. T. Mann, Z. C. Worley, A. S. Dart, J. C. Arnold, P. J. Decker and E. B. Meeker.

The township, in 1868, adopted at its town meeting a long cattle “ordinance.” It contained eleven sections, and was carefully drawn, providing that cattle should not run at large, and providing for impounding and fixing penalties; providing how they should be released, and giving the proper officers power to act in all cases. This was a new way of dealing with a very troublesome subject, and it proved a very effective way. The Legislature had passed a law allowing townships to vote for or against permitting cattle to run at large. One of the provisions of this law was that in case a majority of the legal voters of any township should vote against letting cattle run at large, the law should then be in effect in that township, whether the voters in an adjoining township adopted or not. This complicated matters very much, and there were constant depredations upon the part of those who did not choose to live up to the law. Custom bad grown into a kind of law, and citizens were unwilling to take the law into their own hands and make a pound of their own enclosures. Tins ordinance was the subject of a legal decision, and soon became very effective.


Le Baron, William., Jr. & Co. The History of McLean County, Illinois: portraits of early settlers and prominent men. Chicago. W. Le Baron, Jr., 1879.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Access Genealogy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top