Nitachacha District, English Names

With the passage by the U.S. Congress of the Indian Removal Act that same year, the legal mechanisms were put in place for President Andrew Jackson to negotiate with Indian groups for their deportation.

The Choctaws, Mississippi’s largest Indian group, were the first southeastern Indians to accept removal with the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek in September 1830. The treaty provided that the Choctaws would receive land west of the Mississippi River in exchange for the remaining Choctaw lands in Mississippi. The Choctaws were given three years to leave Mississippi.

English names listed on the1831 “list of claims allowed under the treaty in Nitachacha District”. These are “persons that have relinquished” (their land)


Samuel Anderson
Capt. Big Ax
Capt. Bob
Z. Brashears, Sr.
Thomas Cango
William Christy
George Clark
Gen. Coffee
Capt. John Cooper
William Fields
Pliny Fisk
Capt. James Gardiner/Gardner
James Garland



John Garland
S. Garland
Henry Garvin
Charles Gibson
George Johnson
Charles Juzong
Capt. Pur Juzong
Capt. John Lake
Thomas McCann
J. K. Nail
Capt. Red Cedar
Capt. Thorn
Allen Yates


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.