Carthage Township Town Officers 1855-1868

The early records of the township are lost, and there is no list of its officers prior to 1855. The population in 1820 was 320; in 1830 it was 395; in 1840 it was 734; in 1850 it was 1,087; in 1860 it was 1,827.

Township Trustees 1855-1868.

1855     Hiram Frost,        Vincent Caldwell,      Caleb Wells.
1856-57 Jacob S. Coen,       R. M. Wilson,          Walter Glazier.
1858     William Mills.      R. M. Wilson,          Walter Glazier.
1859     Cyrenus Stout,      Simeon Buck,           Asa P. Jeffers.
1860     Walter Glazier,     James Buck,            Asa P. Jeffers.
1861     Walter Glazier,     S. H. Lottridge,       Cyrenus Stout.
1862     William Merrill,    S. H. Lottridge,       Cyrenus Stout.
1863     Aaron Stort,        William Russel,        John W Nicholson.
1864     S. H. Lottridge,    Amasa Saunders,        Charles Stout.
1865     William Russell,    Amasa Saunders,        Charles Stout.
1866     William Russell,    David G. Frost,        John W. Nicholson.
1867     William Russell,    David G. Frost,        E. M. Young.
1868     Avery N. Saunders,  Joseph D. Webster,     Hiram C. Frost.

Township Clerics 1855-1868.

1855-Washington Hull.
1856-60-James Elliott.
1861-62-David Frost.
1863-James Elliott, who has been re-elected each year since.

Justices of the Peace 1852-1866.

1852-Daniel Tubbs, S. W. Lottridge, and John Elliott.
1855-Isaac Hull and Richard M. Wilson.
1857-John Whittington.
1858-Richard M. Wilson.
1860-John Whittington.
1861-Jacob S. Coen.
1863-John Whittington.
1864-Jacob S. Coen.
1865-Curtis Raincer and John Hammond.
1866-Simon H. Lottridge.

Collection: Athens County Ohio Genealogy.

Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top