Company M, 121st Infantry, “Home Guard”

One of the first military companies organized in Pulaski County after the War of 1812 was “The Home Guards.”

Peace and plenty characterized our growing county for a long period of years after the War of 1812-14, but as a safeguard to our homes this company was organized, as we had no military protection. When the war clouds of the sixties hovered over our Southland and men were being called into service, the “Home Guards” were merged into a large company, the intrepid “Pulaski Volunteers,” the first company to leave Pulaski County for the battlefront. Their valiant history during the War Between the States is another story. Several years after the close of the war, the company was reorganized, and for a number of years was the pride of Pulaski County, as their only military organization. Later it disbanded.

On June 20, 1916, it was recognized as Company M, 1st Infantry; May 10, 1921, recognized as Company M, 122nd Infantry; April 27, 1922, as Company M, 200th Infantry; March 28, 1924, as Company M, 121st Infantry.

The first officers of the reorganization as Company M, 122nd Infantry, were:

Captain William Mobley Watson
First Lieutenant Oscar Amos
Second Lieutenant Robert L. Fleming.

Upon the death of Captain Watson, Lieutenant O. C. Amos was made Captain, and is present company commander. Captain Amos is a veteran of the border, having served the entire time on the border, and also acted as instructor during the World War. Captain Amos and Lieutenant R. E. Dixon are both charter members of Company M. The company was called into service at Tybee Island during the flood of 1925, and returned home with no casualties. In September 1934, they were called to Porterdale, Ga., during the textile strike, serving ten days there. The company has passed very fine inspection at each Federal inspection.

The present officers are: O. C. Amos, captain; R. E. Dixon, first lieutenant; and R. H. Holland, second lieutenant.

List of Members

C. Amos, captain
William Anderson
DeWitt Atkinson
Emmett Asbell
Robert Asbell, first sergeant
Anda Blankenship
Alvis Braswell
William Berryhill
George Bigsbee
Holly Brown
Joseph Brown
Willie Brown
R. E. Dixon, first lieutenant
Wilson Doolittle
Hinson Downs
Clinton Collins
William Collins
James Cranford
Joseph Culpepper, corporal, Grade V
Albert Floyd
William Greer
Mellicat Gore
Joseph Hall
Walter Hart
Bernard Hill
Henry Hill
Winton Hill, second lieutenant
J. Holland
Robert Holland, second lieutenant
Harold Horne
John Jennings
William Johnson
James Kilgore,
Charles Kilgore
Cecil Lanier
Robert Lancaster
Grover Lister
John Lucas
Charles Martin
John Mays
John McGlamory
Willie McIntosh
Barney McIntosh
Norman Nelson
Clarence Owens
George Pierce
Robert Pipkin
Hugh Skipper
Lovejoy Sewell
Frank Simmons
William Taylor
Roy Thompson
Lucius Vaughn
Cyrill Walters
William Whigham
Harman Wrye

Pulaski County GA,

Baggott, Rev. J. L. History of Pulaski County Georgia. Daughters of American Revolution. 1935.

Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top