SHAUGH PRIOR is a large parish of scattered farm houses, &c., in the valley of the river Plym, and among the hills and dales at the south end of Dartmouth(sic) Forest, extending from 7 to 10 miles N.N.E. of Plymouth. Near Shaugh Bridge, on the Plym, the Dewerstone rock rears its beetling crags in majestic altitude above the channel of the Cad rivulet; and in the vicinity are other granite tors. This neighbourhood is often visited by anglers and the lovers of picturesque scenery. Revels are held here at Easter and Whitsuntide. Th parish contains souls 698 souls and 7170 acres of land. Excellent clay is got here for the china manufacturers. Sir R. Lopes, Bart. is lord of the manor, which formerly belonged to Plympton Priory. The Earl of Morley, the Rev. S. W. Pearse, and other proprietors have estates in this parish. The Church is an ancient fabric in the perpendicular style, with a tower and six bells. The perpetual curacy, valued at £107, is annexed to that of Sampford-Spiney, in the patronage of the Dean and Canons of Windsor, and the incumbency of the Rev. S. W. Pearse, B.A., for whom the Rev. Hy. Colson, of the Tavistock, officiates. The patrons are appropriators of the great tithes. The parish land (6A.) and a house, were purchased in 1627 with £23 left by 35 donors. The land is let for £10, and the house was converted into the parish workhouse about 1717, at the cost of £100. Lady Modyford left £50 to this parish, and directed the interest to be distributed in bread among the poor.