New County Seat at Springview, Nebraska

It took some time to locate the county seat as there were many little towns contesting for the honor. It was finally established at Springview on April 28, 1885. The residence of David Heiges was made the temporary courthouse. As the county owned the town site the funds secured from the sale of lots were used to build a courthouse.

Among the early post offices were Darnall, Adrian, Lutes, Enterprise, Nesbit, Burton, Brewer, Simpson, Norden, McGuire, Carns, Stevenson, Lomo, McLean, Munt and Meadville, though the last named was located in Brown County for several years it served many on the north side of the river for mail facilities, and was finally moved across the river.

Mrs. Sam Rhodes taught the first school in the county. Miss Thomas, now Mrs. A. H. Burr of Omaha is said to have been the teacher of the first school in Springview, and to have given the town its name.

The second couple married in the county were F. M. Conn and wife, now of Chadron married April 1, 1885.


Jones, Lillian L. Days of Yore: Early History of Brown County, Nebraska. Ainsworth, Nebraska. November, 1937.

Search Military Records - Fold3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top