Indian Tribes of the Alaska Region

The Alaska Region encompasses a dynamic and diverse mix of Tribes, Tribal organizations and natural features. With the exception of the Annette Island Reserve, which falls under the Northwest Region, the entire state of Alaska falls under the jurisdiction of the Alaska Region. The nearly 80,000 Tribal members that make up the 229 Tribes under the Alaska Region jurisdiction stretch from Ketchikan in the Southeast Panhandle to Barrow on the Arctic Ocean and from Eagle on the Yukon Territory border to Atka in the Aleutian Chain.

Regional Office
Niles C. Cesar Regional Director

Alaska Regional Office Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 25520
Juneau, AK 99802-5520
Phone No: (907) 586-7177
Fax No: (907) 586-7252

Fairbanks Agency Bureau of Indian Affairs
101 12th Avenue Room 166
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone No: (907) 459-0222
Fax No: (907) 456-0225

  • Tribes of the Fairbanks Agency
    • Alatna Village
    • Allakaket Village
    • Anvik Village
    • Arctic Village Council
    • Atqasuk Village
    • Beaver Village Council
    • Birch Creek Tribal Council
    • Chalkyitsik Village Council
    • Circle Native Community (IRA)
    • Evansville Village
    • Fairbanks Agency
    • Healy Lake Village
    • Holy Cross Village
    • Hughes Village
    • Huslia Village Council
    • Inupiat Community of Arctic Slope (IRA)
    • Kaktovik Village
    • Kaltag Tribal Council
    • Koyukuk Native Village
    • Louden Tribal Council
    • Manley Hot Springs Village
    • McGrath Native Village Council
    • Native Village of Barrow Inupiat Traditional Government
    • Native Village of Eagle (IRA)
    • Native Village of Fort Yukon (IRA)
    • Native Village of Minto (IRA)
    • Native Village of Nuiqsut
    • Native Village of Point Hope (IRA)
    • Native Village of Point Lay (IRA)
    • Native Village of Stevens (IRA)
    • Native Village of Tanana (IRA)
    • Native Village of Tetlin (IRA)
    • Native Village of Unalakleet (IRA)
    • Native Village of Venetie Tribal Government (IRA)
    • Nenana Native Association
    • Nikolai Village
    • Northway Village
    • Nulato Tribal Council
    • Organized Village of Grayling (IRA)
    • Rampart Village
    • Ruby Tribal Council
    • Selawik IRA Council
    • Shageluk Native Village (IRA)
    • Solomon Traditional Council
    • Stebbins Community Association (IRA)
    • Takotna Village
    • Tanacross Village Council
    • Telida Village
    • Teller Traditional Council
    • Venetie Village Council
    • Village of Anaktuvuk Pass
    • Village of Dot Lake
    • Village of Wainwright

West-Central Alaska Agency Bureau of Indian Affairs
3601 C Street, Sutie 1258
Anchorage, AK 99503-4088
Phone NO: (907) 271-4088
Fax No: (907) 271-4835

  • Tribes of the West-Central Alaska Agency
    • Native Village of Aleknagik
    • Agdaagux Tribe of King Cove
    • Akiachak Native Community (IRA)
    • Akiak Native Community (IRA)
    • Aleut Community of St. Paul Island
    • Algaaciq Native Village
    • Asa’carsarmiut Tribe
    • Cheesh-Na Tribal Council
    • Chevak Native Village
    • Chickaloon Native Village
    • Chignik Lagoon Council
    • Chignik Lake Village
    • Chitina Traditional Indian Village Council
    • Chuloonawick Native Village
    • Curyung Tribal Council
    • Egegik Village
    • Eklutna Native Village
    • Ekwok Village
    • Emmonak Village
    • Gulkana Village
    • Igiugig Village
    • Iqurmiut Traditonal Council
    • Ivanoff Bay Village Council
    • Kaguyak Village
    • Kenaitze Indian Tribe (IRA)
    • King Salmon Tribe
    • Knik Village
    • Kokhanok Village
    • Kongiganak Traditional Council
    • Larsen Bay Tribal Council
    • Lesnoi Village
    • Levelock Village
    • Lime Village Traditional Council
    • Manokotak Village
    • Mentasta Lake Tribal Council
    • Naknek Native Village
    • Native Village of Afognak
    • Native Village of Akhiok
    • Native Village of Akutan
    • Native Village of Atka
    • Native Village of Belkofski
    • Native Village of Bill Moore’s Slough
    • Native Village of Cantwell
    • Native Village of Chenega
    • Native Village of Chignik
    • Native Village of Chuathbaluk
    • Native Village of Crooked Creek
    • Native Village of Eek
    • Native Village of Ekuk
    • Native Village of Eyak
    • Native Village of False Pass
    • Native Village of Gakona
    • Native Village of Georgetown
    • Native Village of Goodnews Bay
    • Native Village of Hamilton
    • Native Village of Hooper Bay
    • Native Village of Kanatak (IRA)
    • Native Village of Karluk (IRA)
    • Native Village of Kasigluk
    • Native Village of Kipnuk
    • Native Village of Kluti-Kaah (aka Copper Center)
    • Native Village of Kwigillingok
    • Native Village of Kwinhagak (IRA)
    • Native Village of Marshall
    • Native Village of Mekoryuk (IRA)
    • Native Village of Nanwalek (aka English Bay)
    • Native Village of Napaimute
    • Native Village of Napakiak (IRA)
    • Native Village of Napaskiak
    • Native Village of Nikolski (IRA)
    • Native Village of Nunapitchuk (IRA)
    • Native Village of Ouzinkie
    • Native Village of Paimiut
    • Native Village of Perryville Tribal Council
    • Native Village of Pitka’s Point
    • Native Village of Port Heiden
    • Native Village of Sheldon Point
    • Native Village of South Naknek
    • Native Village of Tatitlek (IRA)
    • Native Village of Tazlina
    • Native Village of Tyonek (IRA)
    • Nelson Lagoon Tribal Council
    • New Koliganek Village Council
    • New Stuyahok Village
    • Newhalen Village
    • Newtok Traditional Council
    • Nightmute Traditional Council
    • Ninilchik Traditional Council
    • Nondalton Village
    • Nunakauyarmiut Tribe
    • Ohogamuit Traditional Council
    • Organized Village of Kwethluk (IRA)
    • Orutsararmuit Native Council
    • Oscarville Tribal Council
    • Pauloff Harbor Village
    • Pedro Bay Village Council
    • Pilot Point Tribal Council
    • Pilot Station Traditional Village
    • Platinum Traditional Village Council
    • Port Graham Village Council
    • Port Lions Traditional Tribal Council
    • Portage Creek Village Council
    • Qagan Tayagungin Tribe of Sand Point Village
    • Qawalangin Tribe of Unalaska
    • Scammon Bay Traditional Council
    • Seldovia Village Tribe (IRA)
    • Skagway Village
    • Sleetmute Traditional Council
    • St. George Traditional Council
    • Sun’aq Tribe of Kodiak
    • Traditional Village of Togiak
    • Tuluksak Native Community (IRA)
    • Tuntutuliak Traditional Council
    • Tununak IRA Council
    • Twin Hills Village Council
    • Ugashik Traditional Village Council
    • Umkumiut Native Village
    • Unga Tribal Council
    • Village of Alakanuk
    • Village of Aniak
    • Village of Atmautluak
    • Village of Chefornak
    • Village of Clarks Point
    • Village of Iliamna
    • Village of Kalskag
    • Village of Kotlik
    • Village of Lower Kalskag
    • Village of Old Harbor
    • Village of Red Devil
    • Village of Salamatoff
    • Village of Stony River
    • West-Central Alaska Agency
    • Yupiit of Andreafski


Bureau of Indian Affairs. Web. 2002 and 2009

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Access Genealogy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top