1832 Creek Census – Hillabee Town

By a treaty of March 24, 1832, the Creek Indians ceded to the United States all of their land east of the Mississippi River. Heads of families were entitled to tracts of land, which, if possible, were to include their improvements. In 1833 Benjamin S. Parsons and Thomas J. Abbott prepared a census of Creek Indian heads of families, which gave their names and the number of males, females, and slaves in each family. The entries were arranged by town and numbered; these numbers were used for identification in later records. This is the census for the town of Hillabee.

37Clath lo Har go2204principal chief
1Yo ho lo wy ger3609
2Ho tul ga Har go3205
3Choke chart E marth lar4105
4Car pic char Yo ho lo1203
5Lo di ge2103
6Saw wan ne Har jo3205
7Sam my2103
8Ar sar ho ler2305
9Mar tow ar Har jo2204
10Yak kup ho e2103
11Al sich er1304
12Se noche ho e0303
13Fix sum ho ge1203
14E marth lar Yo ho lo1203
15O ho yau me1203
17No cose Yo ho lo3306
18Otch chi e gey1203
19Yar har E marth lar1203
20Tal war Har jo1203
21Po ko lo Marthlar3205
22Phil Grayson4408
23James Grayson2204
24Is far ne Yo ho lo1203



Hall, Lance L. Parsons and Abbott Roll.

Discover more from Access Genealogy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top