Oregon Territory

The Oregon Territory was a historic administrative region in the Pacific Northwest of North America, established by the United States on August 14, 1848, following the Oregon Treaty with Britain in 1846. This treaty resolved the Oregon boundary dispute by setting the U.S.-British border at the 49th parallel and granted the U.S. control over land that now comprises the states of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and parts of Montana and Wyoming. The Territory’s formation was a significant milestone in the westward expansion of the United States, driven by the Manifest Destiny ideology that advocated for the expansion of U.S. territory across the continent. The Oregon Territory was carved out of a larger area previously known as the Oregon Country, which had been jointly occupied by the United States and Britain. Its establishment was crucial for the legal and political organization of the region, providing a framework for governance, settlement, and the establishment of American laws and institutions in the vast western territories. The territorial government initially centered in Oregon City, was later moved to Salem, and played a pivotal role in the early development and settlement patterns of the Pacific Northwest, laying the groundwork for the eventual statehood of Oregon in 1859, followed by Washington in 1889.

Scroll to Top